Two Thousand Ten

A year in retrospect

What an amazing year 2010 was! It was full of once in a lifetime opportunities. The year overflowed with new friendships, life lessons, laugh, tears, and memories I’ll keep forever. Looking back it seems impossible not be overwhelmed by the blessing I was given.

The year started off with a Birthday that was made incredible by amazing friends. My father even came home and took us on a ski trip! In February Gretchen and I went to the Black Eyed Peas concert, which was great! In March I was able to spend some time with Hillsong London!

April was an interesting month, to say the least! It started off amazing with an almost two-week vacation to Florida! We drove down with my aunt’s family in their mac-daddy RV. It was awesome to spend all day at the beach, hiking, and kayaking with dolphins! Plus, I took my cousin and her friend and we spent a day in Disney World!  I even flew home early, which was my first time flying alone! But, shortly after returning home I lost someone very close to me, Mimi. She wasn’t my grandmother but I loved her as though she was. Within the same week Mark Steinke passed away. It was a rough week. But, I was able to spend time with the Watoto Children’s Choir in between all the madness! I ended the month strong with a trip to the ORANGE Conference!

In June my family and I flew to Spain and got on a cruise ship that floated around the Mediterranean Sea for eight days! What an amazing experience that was! Never a dull moment! We even missed our connecting flight in Dublin, which made us miss the boat! We taxied from Barcelona to Monte Carlo! We went drove straight through the countryside of France, which was beautiful! We saw The Leaning Tower of Pisa, Spent a Day in Rome, walked on the Ashes of Pompeii, and spent almost a week exploring in Barcelona! I could seriously write about this all day!

The next month I spent time at C3 Student Camp and traveled to Wake Forest University for Camp Kidjam! I love Camp Kidjam! Totally bummed I probably wont be able to go this year! I love spending time with all those kids, all the laughs with the leaders, and learning from the Orange folks!

August began a new season for me. My dad offered to move me to Wilmington. I obviously jumped on that offer. In hindsight, I wish I would have spent more time praying about it and deciding if was truly God’s will.  The first month was okay, still exciting to be on my own. Around the middle of September I began to feel discouraged, and by October I was seeing that if I didn’t chipper up I could easily become depressed. I’ve had to choose to be happy and make the best out of my situation. I know God sent me there to get me away so I could clear my head and focus on him!

I’ve learned that even if I might have ignored Gods will, or didn’t seek enough, that he has allowed me to be where I am for this season. It’s my goal to discover why, grow closer to him, and rediscover myself.

I’m so thankful for parents who support me in my decisions, but don’t let me wimp out halfway through. I’m honored to have friends who won’t let me fall, won’t let me wallow in my own self pity, and that hold me accountable.

This year has been amazing, but I can only hope 2011 will be even better. God placed desires in my heart that I refuse to ignore. He’s given me passions I refuse to disregard. God has blessed me tremendously.

My Goals for 2011 are to read more, read the Bible in a year (try two), blog more, and stay positive. I know this blog was boring, but I hope it’s a catalyst to me blogging more.

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

1 thought on “Two Thousand Ten

Leave a comment